House Ag committee includes 24 new members, including Elissa Slotkin of Michigan

Former Ranking Member Glenn “G.T.” Thompson of Pennsylvania has assumed the role of Chair, with the Republicans taking control of the House. Former Chair David Scott (D-Georgia) is now the Ranking Member for the Democrats.

In addition to 15 Republicans returning to the committee, 12 new members will join. 

They include (asterisks indicate newly elected members of Congress):

  • Mark Alford* (Missouri 4th District)
  • Lori Chavez-DeRemer* (Oregon 5th)
  • Monica De La Cruz* (Texas 15th)
  • John Duarte* (California 13th)
  • Ronny Jackson (Texas 13th)
  • Nick Langworthy* (New York 23rd)
  • Frank Lucas (Oklahoma 3rd)
  • Max Miller* (Ohio 7th)
  • Marc Molinaro* (New York 19th)
  • Zach Nunn* (Iowa 3rd)
  • John Rose (Tennessee 6th)
  • Derrick Van Orden* (Wisconsin 3rd)

The House Ag Committee for the 117th Congress (2021-23) did not include a representative from Michigan, but one state Democrat is joining the committee for this session – Elissa Slotkin, who represents Michigan’s 7th District.

Ranking Member Scott announced a list of 21 Democrat representatives that would serve on the House ag committee. Among them is Slotkin, who was re-elected for a third term in Congress in November. Slotkin previously represented Michigan’s 8th District, but the recent redistricting now has her as the 7th District rep. She represents the counties of Clinton, Ingham, Livingston, Shiawassee and most of Eaton County. 

In addition to Slotkin, the committee will have 11 new members from the Democratic Party. All are freshmen members of Congress. They include:

  • Yadira Caraveo* (Colorado 8th)
  • Andrea Salinas* (Oregon 6th)
  • Marie Gluesenkamp Perez* (Washington 3rd)
  • Don Davis* (North Carolina 1st)
  • Jill Tokuda* (Hawaii 2nd)
  • Nikki Budzinski* (Illinois 13th)
  • Greg Casar* (Texas 35th)
  • Jasmine Crockett* (Texas 30th)
  • Jonathan Jackson* (Illinois 1st)
  • Eric Sorensen* (Illinois 17th)
  • Gabe Vasquez* (New Mexico 2nd)

The House Agriculture Committee consists of 51 members, 27 of the majority party in the House and 24 of the minority. 

The committee will be key in determining details for the 2023 Farm Bill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *