Potato Growers of Michigan elects 2024 officers

Potato Growers of Michigan, Inc. (PGMI) selected its 2024 officers of the board of directors during a Dec. 13, 2023 meeting in East Lansing. 

Dennis Iott of Iott Seed Farms in Kalkaska was re-elected as board president, and Jason Walther of Walther Farms, headquartered in Three Rivers, was re-elected as vice president. Joining the board in 2024 is Ryan Pelletier of Walther Farms, as the representative from the Michigan Potato Industry Commission (MPIC).

Once the official election by members is complete, the 2024 PGMI board will include:

  • Dennis Iott, Iott Seed Farms, Kalkaska (president)
  • Jason Walther, Walther Farms, Three Rivers (vice president)
  • Bruce Cotton, Elmaple Farms, Kalkaska
  • Darwin Eisenga, Eisenga Potato Farms, Marion
  • Wayne Leep, County Line Farms, Martin
  • Ryan Pelletier, Walther Farms, Three Rivers (MPIC representative)
  • Jeff Thorlund, Thorlund Brothers, Greenville

PGMI was founded in 1991. The organization’s mission is to keep legislators and decision-makers at the local, state and federal levels informed on the needs of the Michigan potato industry. 

Michigan annually ranks among the top eight potato-producing states in the U.S. According to a 2023 study conducted by Michigan State University, more than 21,000 jobs are tied to the Michigan potato industry, which contributes more than $2.5 billion to the state’s economy. 

Michigan produces more potatoes for the chipping industry than any other state. One out of every four bags of potato chips sold in the U.S. is filled with Michigan-grown potatoes. 

Dr. Kelly Turner is the manager of PGMI, which is headquartered in East Lansing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *