PGMI elects board of directors for 2023

Potato Growers of Michigan, Inc. (PGMI) selected its 2023 officers of the board of directors during a Dec. 14, 2022 meeting in Lansing. 

Dennis Iott of Iott Seed Farms in Kalkaska was re-elected as board president, and Jason Walther of Walther Farms, headquartered in Three Rivers, was re-elected as vice president. Joining the board in 2023 is Travis Horkey of Horkey Brothers Farms, as the representative from the Michigan Potato Industry Commission and Wayne Leep of County Line Farms was nominated to fill a vacancy. 

Once the official election by members is complete, the 2023 PGMI board will include:

  • Dennis Iott, Iott Seed Farms, Kalkaska (president)
  • Jason Walther, Walther Farms, Three Rivers (vice president)
  • Bruce Cotton, Elmaple Farms, Kalkaska
  • Darwin Eisenga, Eisenga Potato Farms, Marion
  • Travis Horkey, Horkey Brothers Farms, Dundee
  • Wayne Leep, County Line Farms, Martin
  • Jeff Thorlund, Thorlund Brothers, Greenville

PGMI was founded in 1991. The organization’s mission is to keep legislators and decision-makers at the local, state and federal levels informed on the needs of the Michigan potato industry. 

Michigan annually ranks among the top eight potato-producing states in the U.S. More than 3,000 jobs are tied to the Michigan potato industry, which contributes nearly $1.25 billion to the state’s economy. 

Michigan produces more potatoes for the chipping industry than any other state. One out of every four bags of potato chips sold in the U.S. is filled with Michigan-grown potatoes. 

Kelly Turner is the manager of PGMI, which is headquartered in East Lansing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *